An introductucation

Why hello there, dear ones. Post number two, and I thought it was a good time to introduce myself.

or, 'SUPERBABY!'

 

I’m Rachel. It’s nice to meet you.  And that little one there is my beautiful Godson, Eben. he’s about 6 weeks old in that picture, and next month he turns one. My, how time flies!

 
 
 

I grew up with parents who loved to create. My mother, the ‘stereotypical artsy type’, and father, a farm boy from Minnesota, had a very do-it-yourself attitude towards life, and I picked up early that it was ok to try something, even if you might fail.

Mom

Dad, wearing my first-ever adult Sweater

I started sewing at a young age. One of my fonder memories from when I was young was sitting in the Loom Room (that’s right, we had a room just for the loom. and the sewing machines, i guess) with my parents while they were sewing matching easter dresses for my sister and me. Mom worked on Jessica’s on the up-to-date Singer and Dad sewed mine on the old Singer, a treadle machine that he would later use to sew slip covers (piping and all!) for our living room couch and chair.

Mom sewed a lot. She even sewed her wedding dress, back in 1977. With all my needs and desires to get things done on time, I like to think about the way my mom made her wedding dress, finishing it up the morning of the wedding. It helps me remember to take a deep breath and relax. Things will get done!

Now that I’m relatively grown up and live away from my parents, they continue to create. Most recently, they’ve been creating their dream house, a red house on the top of a hill in a cornfield in Wisconsin. Dad built the cabinets for the kitchen and bathrooms. Mom’s scavenged the local thrift shop for pictures and mirrors and so many lamps. It’s a hodgepodge of wonderful, and a favorite retreat for them and the rest of our family.

And though I live 6 hours from them, I still love to create. This “everything is worth trying” sort of mentality serves me well in my current ‘job’ as a PhD student in Neuroscience. I’m in what I hope to be my final year, studying seizure development and how the immune system interacts with the brain during viral infection of the brain. What most non-scientists don’t realize is that 90% of every day is failure. Not failure exactly, because I really think i learn something new from even things that don’t work the way I expected them to. But failure in that things don’t always work out the way I expect them to, and when I’ve put in a week or more to set up an experiment, or when I’ve spent several hours on a mouse surgery, only to find the mouse doesn’t fit the parameters for the experiment, I’m often a little discouraged and feel as if nothing I do makes any progress.

So that’s why I sew. That’s why I knit. Because no matter what happens, no matter how many rows I might have to rip out or how many seams I might have to re-sew, I always walk away from these projects feeling as if I’ve made progress. When lab is frustrating and when the experiments are failing, i can always knit six rounds of a sock and be six rounds closer to a sock. It’s like a miracle!

And now that i’ve started the etsy adventure and am  working on sharing my productivity with others, i’m looking forward to sharing more of my creative process and more of what makes my days special with you. So come on back. And thanks for stopping by.

2 comments

  1. Sandy

    Wow!! i like alot. Do you make flowers into hair ties or “pony tails” for children?

  2. rachel

    Yes, most definitely, Sandy! I should list a few of those! do you have a specific color you’d be looking for?

Tell me what you think!

