Seven-layer peppermint heaven?

I love cookies. I love pie. I love ice cream. I love sprinkles.

And I love peppermint bark. Even better?  SEVEN-LAYER peppermint bark. Please make this and eat it and love love love it! You will never be satisfied with plain-old white chocolate and candy canes again…

I *basically* followed the directions from christopher and tia, but since making this three times (that’s three times in two weeks), I’ve been just winging it and it’s turning out great. But SERIOUSLY, folks, this is GENIUS.  Please go and look at their recipe if you need precision. I’ve just approximated it all here!

Seven (or so) Layer Peppermint Bark

from christopher and tia

  • White chocolate (or the almond-bark-making stuff)
  • Bittersweet and Semisweet chocolate
  • Peppermint extract
  • Candy canes
  • parchment paper

Unwrap and crush up 4 or 5 big candy canes. I put them in a big glass bowl and used another smaller bowl to crush them. Christopher and Tia recommend a blender, but I didn’t do that.  Sift out the big pieces and set them aside. Collect all that candy cane powder in the bottom for one of the layers.

Melt some white chocolate (or one square of that almond-bark-making stuff), mix in about 1/4 tsp of peppermint extract, and spread it in a really thin layer on the parchment paper. One square made about a 8×10″ square. Let it set. like REALLY set.  And while that’s setting…

Melt some semisweet chocolate. something in the neighborhood of an ounce? Mix in more peppermint extract. about 1/4 tsp again. Spread that on top of the white chocolate. Real thin again. And don’t worry if it melts a bit of that first layer. ’cause it will.

Now you’ve got two options. I’ve tried both and they both seem to work. Either mix a bunch of that candy cane dust into the semisweet chocolate BEFORE you spread it, or sprinkle a healthy layer on top of the chocolate before you let it set.

Repeat another white chocolate layer.

Repeat another semisweet layer.

And finally, add a final layer of white chocolate. the whole shebang should be about 1/4″ thick at this point. Before the last layer of white chocolate sets, dump on all those big bits of candy cane. Press them slightly to set them in place.

And now melt a small amount of bittersweet chocolate. I used about half of what I used for the semisweet layers. After melting, add more peppermint extract and put it in zipper plastic bag – the bottom corner. you know, like a pastry bag. Cut off the very smallest bit of corner and drizzle that chocolate all over the candy cane.

I learned this the hard way – cut the bark before you chill it. I used a pastry bench scraper the first few times and then a pizza cutter this most recent time. They both worked real swell. AFTER cutting it, chill it in the fridge for 10-15 mins.

NOW EAT UP, FRIENDS.

YUM!

2 comments

  1. Kim

    Thanks for the recipe. I am reminded that 7 is the number signifiying completeness. Sounds appropriate here! I shall be trying it soon.

Tell me what you think!

