Here’s the thing….

 
 

I’m feeling transition here. Feeling it really hard, actually. Finished the temporary employment with my thesis mentor, and am back to un/under/self employment for the time being. Not a bad situation, but not what I had envisioned life post-grad school to be.

I am weighing my options for my future, for employment, for how I’ll pay my mortgage and health insurance. I am blessed with options, though not the options I initially thought a PhD in Neuroscience would provide. But that’s the way things work, right? God sees our needs and provides. A dear friend hooked me up with a a paying gig as a Scientific Consultant, so I get to do what I love most about science, write and edit. Things with the Etsy store are… well… kinda exploding, and I’m really learning a lot there. And I am brainstorming a new knitting-related endeavor with my local yarn store owner.

I had a mopey day this week, where all I could think about is that I wasn’t sure how I was going to be getting my next paycheck. God provided a night of knitting and ENCOURAGEMENT to bring me back to life, and I’m kinda excited about what the next step is going to be.

One of the big things I need to be better about (especially with the Etsy and Knitting endeavors) is blogging. So this is my (yet again) renewed pledge to … Do better. No, that’s too vague. I need to do better by posting more frequently (i’m shooting for minimum of 2 posts per week to start – that’s 2 ORIGINAL CONTENT POSTS, i.e. pictures of hopping sheep DON’T COUNT) and ORGANIZING my posts. This goal still needs to be fleshed out, but I don’t need to bore you with those details. The first step was a new layout.  I know, it’s not like I haven’t done it before, and I’m feeling fickle about it right now, so it might change yet again. But it’s a process, and the first step is to take a first step.

So. I’m 30 years old and it’s MAJOR transition time. This is going to be pretty interesting…..

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Changes I’m Learning. « whirlwind

Tell me what you think!

