Marathon Weekend!

My sister was in town this weekend to run the Twin Cities Marathon. We were supposed to run it together, but, well, my history with stress fractures in my feet caught up with me around week 6 of training in the form of what I suspect was yet another stress fracture. The end result is that I got to be the marathon superfan this weekend, and MAN did I have fun!

VICTORY!!!

First, I am SO PROUD of my sister! Not only did she FINISH the marathon (ALL 26.2 miles!), she managed to bust out a PERSONAL BEST!

Coming down the chute

I don’t know if you’ve ever been a spectator at a marathon, but it’s just about the most inspiring thing you’ll ever do. It was a beautiful day for a race – really cold at the beginning, but sunny all morning. As I kept screaming at just about everyone that ran past at miles 1, 10, 15, and 22-ish, WHAT A GREAT DAY FOR A MARATHON! My favorite part is cheering for the people in the 4-hour-plus time range. It gets even better in the 5-hour range (that’s where Jessica and I fall), because you KNOW these people have worked just about as hard as they ever have to make this day happen!

Post-Marathon Chipotle Lunch

That is not, of course, to suggest that the sub-3-hour champions (Both the men’s and women’s champions ran average mile times of under 6 minutes – that’s 26.2 miles in something on the order of 2 hours and 10 minutes for the men’s champion.) and everyone in between 3 and 4 hours did not work hard. They sure did! We stayed at a hotel close to the Metrodome, within the first mile of the course, and I got to see everyone (and I mean EVERYONE – from the men’s champion to the sweep vehicles!) run past. It was awesome and SO VERY inspiring!

So. This week I begin training for next year. Here’s hoping that my feet hold up!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Downtime: Pip’s first winery excursion « Fidgets & Wiggles
  2. Pingback: And the hard things too. Resolutions, part III « whirlwind

Tell me what you think!

