Things I made for Christmas, Volume 1

It’s a little late, but I have to share something I made for Christmas. It’s one of my favorites.

A lot of years ago, my dad bought a scanner and scanned a whole ton of slides from when he was growing up. He scanned them at some obscene resolution so that we could actually see everything, and then he gave his siblings all a number of cds with all his hard work. It was a ton of fun to see the pictures and think about my dad as a child (always a funny mental exercise!) on the farm.

Years have gone by, and our cds got stowed away somewhere where all the pictures were never seen. It’s a common problem, I know. But with all the great options for photo books out there, it’s a shame that we haven’t had the pictures out on the coffee table. And that’s what I did for Christmas for my dad.

IMG_8128

The family photos (this one is from dad’s older brother’s wedding) are great! And this is the first in a series of “Growing up Bergstrom” books – I found several more cds when I was home over Christmas and I hope to put together “Growing up Bergstrom, Vol 2” and “Growing up Bergstrom, The Next Generation,” because we also found the cds of slides from when my sister, brother, and I were growing up.

IMG_8130

There’s dad. It’s funny, because I can very easily see my aunts and uncles (the way I know them, as adults) in their baby pictures. But my dad looks very different to me as a baby and child than what he looks like know. I wonder how much of that is just because he is my dad.

IMG_8131

That’s grandma and grandpa. My Grandma looks like such a film star in all the pictures I found! Perhaps it’s the glasses? Grandpa died when I was younger, but I’m glad I knew him – and amazing to see things I remember about him even in the pictures from when dad was young.

IMG_8132

I like the farm pictures a lot too. One of my favorite parts about Bergstrom get-togethers is listening to the stories about the tractors and all the farm work (raking hay in road gear is my favorite from this summer’s get-together!), and I love that picture of one of the girls on the tractor.

IMG_8133

I loved doing this project. I got a 7×7″ book through blurb.com, with a hardcover. The print quality is awesome, and they have an e-book/pdf option that I got as well, so dad can have it on his ipad as well. I’ll be doing more of these, and can’t wait to get the next one in my hands!

but most of all, I love looking through the pictures. I wasn’t there when they were taken, but I love seeing these people who are a part of me and my history. It is, indeed, my favorite christmas present project of 2012.

Tell me what you think!

