Oh, you know. Stuff.

It’s been busy here this week. I’ve been knee-deep in refining my computer programming skills (for my ‘real job’), up to my elbows in working on those goals and resolutions (I’ve swept and vacuumed my livingroom THREE TIMES over the past 7 days), and working really hard to stay warm.

It’s been cold here – it’s cold everywhere, right? And I like it, because this is what January is supposed to be like in MN – COLD! We’ve had a few days with little to no exposure to temperatures above 5º F. And after a bit of an unfortunate incident with some frostbite on my stomach (of all places) during a run a week ago (before the cold really hit – it was 20º F, I think) I have taken a break from my running goals for the week. Signe is suffering more than I am in this department, but I can definitely feel it in my core (the soul-type core, not the muscle-type core) that I miss running.

What else has been happening?

Well, I made some new slippers.

slippers

This is the second time I’ve made this pattern, Prairie Boots by Julie Weisenberger, aka cocoknits. This is the second time I’ve used this pattern, and I’m much happier with this version. The pattern calls for Lamb’s Pride Bulky, and I used Berrocco Vintage Chunky the first time. The gauge was right, but it wasn’t the right feel at the end. They just felt too loosey-goosey, and the color (something along the lines of puke) wasn’t right. Hot pink (with glow-in-the-dark dots on the soles) is MUCH more my style, and the single-ply Lamb’s Pride holds up way-more boot-like…. Yeah. I said it. waaay. more. boot. like.

In all honesty, though, this pattern is awesome. The best slippers ever! They keep my ankles warm too, which is important when one has an aversion to pants (i.e. I wear tights all winter long. not socks and pants.) And as a final bonus, they’re bulky yarn, knit on US9 and US10s. A SUPER-fast knit!!!!

Julie Weisenberger has some other great patterns in addition to these slippers. I think my favorite is the Fleeced Earflap Hat – one of my girlfriends made this super-thrummed hat for her toddler son, and it is just about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. And so warm!  I’d also really like to make a knitted skirt sometimes, and the Steffi Skirt is certainly on my short list of options.

5 comments

  1. rachel

    Thanks, guys! They’re SUPER cozy, and the hot pink color just makes me smile every day. 😉

  2. Pingback: February is the shortest (and best) month of the year — A GIVEAWAY! « whirlwind

Tell me what you think!

