In which everything falls apart.

In a series of unfortunate events, (actually, not SO unfortunate – more unforseen?) my life has devolved into what feels like an episode of Hoarders. I’ve never actually seen the show because it makes my skin crawl to just think about it, but I’m sure that this is close to what it must be like. And it has really been negatively impacting my simple goals for the month….

Let me back up and start at the beginning.

I bought my house three years ago, and I immediately knew that there would be new carpet going into the back two bedrooms (i.e. the “back bedroom” and my “office”). This to-do list has been on my chalkboard for close to 9 months now –

IMG_2002

The goal was to get new carpet after finding that teaching job. Well… things are still moving pretty slowly on the job front, and the impending arrival of a new treadmill is forcing the moving of my office to the back bedroom. So carpet time it is.

But, as you might have guessed from the title of this post, these things don’t move along the way we always expect them to. More after the jump….

Two weeks ago, I dutifully emptied both of the rooms to be carpeted in preparation for getting the rooms measured. I knew that it wasn’t going to be a quick one-two punch (i.e. get measured on one day, get the carpet the next…), but I figured that it’d be something on the order of a week, because I was getting carpet that was already in-stock. And since the rooms were all cleaned out, I even pulled up all the adhesive carpet tiles in the office and the old wall-to-wall carpet in the bedroom. And then I painted the back bedroom white (to match those awesome green tiles that I found under the carpet)!

mess2

Very exciting, right? So much fun to start fresh and clean! But here’s where that problem comes in. My house is smaller than 800 square feet, and I had a lot of storage in those two rooms (all my fabrics, books, miscellaneous office supplies, a twin-sized bed….). All of that…. All of that is in my bedroom and livingroom right now.

mess1

And two weeks out, it is still sitting there. This is why I feel like I’m living in an episode of hoarders. I don’t even know where to start, because even though I’ve gotten rid of a good amount of it (at least 3 big garbage bags have been tossed or donated), I don’t have anywhere to put the stuff I want to keep.

I wasn’t ready for three weeks of this kind of living, honestly. They told me, once I got the rooms measured, that they needed 7-10 days to order the carpet. Because of course, even though I specifically picked my carpet because it was in stock, they were 2 square yards short. And OF COURSE, when I called to check up on the order status, it’s actually going to be closer to 13 days after ordering before the installer gets the carpet. And then who knows how long it’ll be until the installers can come put my life back together for me?!

And to make things worse, this has been my office for the past week. I can’t even escape the mess when i’m working, because I now work at my kitchen table. (insert frowny face here, but at least I’ve moved closer to the espresso machine, right?)

IMG_2003

I’m feeling a little stressed out by this whole situation. can you tell? I just keep reminding myself that this is a necessary scary step on the way to finishing the carpet, a major step towards a simpler life at my house. I just wish it was moving along faster. I could be much less stressed out for a much shorter time, if only I knew when this was going to be done.

(thanks for listening. i’m feeling better now.)

One comment

  1. Pingback: I’ve been unfaithful…. | whirlwind

Tell me what you think!

