Putting the wheels back on.

The carpet is in. Even better, I’m almost re-organized in my new office. Good enough to be working in here daily, at any rate. Pictures to come.

But the important thing is that I’m back on track after a February that was nothing like I thought it should be. It wasn’t bad, just scattered and not really productive. I didn’t get everything done that I wanted to get done (though I did get those socks done. still haven’t mailed them yet….) And I’m getting back to running now that it’s no longer -40 out and my frostbitten toes are healed.

So I haven’t lost all the focus that I had hoped to shove into 2013.

I even have something crafty-like to show you today. Read on to see….

have you seen all those bleach pen crafts out there? The ones where people use a bleach pen like fabric paint on dark fabric to make all sorts of beautiful designs? As a lover of all things fabric/yarn dye, I’ve been meaning to try it out for a long time, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Until now.

I had a bleach pen for taking care of some stains in my bathroom (note: bleach does not kill mildew. vinegar does, but it doesn’t take care of the mildew stains. So i’m bleaching the caulk after vinegaring it) and I had a lot left over.

Guess what else I had left over (that I found in my office move)? Fabric and a pillow form! A match made in heaven!

I went pretty minimalist on my bleaching pattern. First I laid out a chalk grid to make dots,
IMG_9131
and then I went to town, placing blobs of bleach gel at each intersection. I let it dry and then threw it through the wash (with a lot of things that i’d’ve been ok getting bleached….) and I’m really happy with the final fabric!

IMG_9148

Sewing up the pillow was simple, though it took a while to piece the back, as I only had 9″-wide bits of ticking. But I like the effect of piecing it together with some leftovers from the front and with the lines perpindicular.

IMG_9151

The pillow now lives on Signe’s chair.

IMG_9136

And here’s a taste of the sort of sad puppy face that She’s so good at –

IMG_9168

Seriously. It’s like I don’t love her enough to a) get her a chair at Salvation Army for $8 or b) make her a pillow to go on said chair. Sheesh. What kind of pet owner am I, anyhow?

Tell me what you think!

